How to Forget a Network Connection

When troubleshooting a network connection it is often-times helpful to remove all of the saved information about the network before attempting to reconnect. This article contains the steps to do so.

This Article Covers:

Forget a Network on a Windows Computer

Windows 10

  1. Click on the network icon on the right side of the taskbar, near the time and date.
  2. Right-click on the network you wish to forget.
  3. Choose the Forget option.
  • Uploaded Image (Thumbnail)

Windows 11

  1. Click on the network icon on the right side of the taskbar, near the time and date, to bring up the Quick Settings menu.
  2. Click on the > arrow next to the WiFi icon in the menu.
  3. Right-click on the network you wish to forget.
  4. Choose the Forget option.

Forget a Network on an Apple Device

  1. Please see Apple's support article for the most up-to-date instructions.

Forget a Network on an Android Device

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap on the Network & internet option.
  3. Tap on Internet.
  4. Tap on the gear icon to the right of the network you want to forget.
    • Uploaded Image (Thumbnail)
  5. Tap Forget.
    • Uploaded Image (Thumbnail)
These instructions are written for stock Android. Your menu layout might be slightly different depending on your phone's Manufacturer.

Details

Article ID: 12291
Created
Fri 2/17/23 4:51 PM
Modified
Tue 2/21/23 1:46 PM

Related Articles (1)

Troubleshooting tips for connection issues on a Windows computer.